Valeria Luiselli ‘The Story of My Teeth’—review

Sometimes you land a book to review that you feel so grateful to have been given the opportunity to cover. Even more so when the publication you’re writing for is headed by someone who has been extremely supportive of your writing practice since the early days (that person being the marvellous Scott Esposito). With that said, I present my review of New York-based Mexican writer Valeria Luiselli’s second novel and third published work, ‘The Story of My Teeth,’ translated by her long-time collaborator Catherine MacSweeney. I hope you enjoy my thoughts enough to go out and buy the book, as I would highly recommend it!

Congratulations to Valeria for her shortlisting for the 2015 Kirkus Prize for Fiction!

Also, my friend Daniel Shea took some wonderful photos of Valeria at her home in New York for the New York Times ‘Writer’s Room’ series. You can see them here.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

